top of page

I remember my first Beef Butchering like it was yesterday


When I was very young my father worked at a dairy (mechanic). Now and then he’d save back a bull calf and when it was weaned he’d bring it home to raise for the freezer. There was usually two growing, an older one and a younger one. When the big one was ready, mom would make an appointment. On the Appointed Day, the kill truck would come. We had just done a big apple juice pressing and there was a huge pile of dry apple mash for the steers to munch on. The kill truck pulled up close to the steers, and the man came out, always pleasant and polite and efficient. The steer dropped instantly and bled out minutes later. Then the truck would winch the steer out and make it easier to skin and gut. Mom would take the heart and liver right to the house where my grandmother waited to clean and package it. The two clean halves of beef, the red meat, white ligaments, and yellow fat swinging in the back of the box truck, is clearly ingrained in my 8yr old memories. The smell and sight of the process was not horrific or traumatic. It was a simple way of life. We had hand fed the steer daily since bringing him home. When he was younger and I went to the dairy on Saturday mornings, he’d suck on my hand. It was in that calf barn I first began to love cattle. I shall always be thankful that my parents gave me a simple raising.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Raising Kids and Heifers

Heifers are an open slate, no past of kicking, no history of mastitis, no calving difficulties, no known production. What I love about heifers is how they’re a lot like children and adapt easily to ne

Reflections of a Grain Free Dairy

It’s been over a year now since we switched the milking herd to no grain. Overall I can’t complain. The cows have stayed fat enough through the winter on their usual local grass hay and the Alfalfa pe

Tips for Bottle Calf Success

Calf Raising Wether you’re starting you’re entire herd from bottle calves or just raising the occasional calf, there’s a few things we’ve learned that are tied to our success! Colostrum, ideally thick

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page